TEXAS LTC

Sign Up for Texas Law Shield

NEWS FLASH: (Effective 1 Sep 2017)

– Cost of First or renewing your License To Carry is a MAXIMUM of $40.
– Minimum caliber handgun drops to .22lr.
– Constitutional Carry DID NOT Pass the Texas Legislature.
– The ONLY Illegal knife in Texas will be one that has a blade length longer than 5.5 Inches.

1 Jan 2016
License To Carry (LTC) is the new “Official” DPS Name, replacing the “OLD” CHL Designation. No action is required if you have an “OLD” CHL License, it will change to the new “LTC” designation upon your approved renewal.

OPEN CARRYING OF HANDGUNS IN TEXAS BEGAN ON 1 JAN 2016.
OPENLY CARRIED HANDGUNS (ON YOUR PERSON OR IN YOUR VEHICLE) MUST BE IN EITHER A BELT OR SHOULDER HOLSTER……
YOU MUST POSSESS A “LICENSE TO CARRY – HANDGUN” IN ORDER TO LAWFULLY OPENLY CARRY IN PUBLIC OR OPENLY IN YOUR VEHICLE.

IF YOU ALREADY HAVE YOUR CHL, NO ADDITIONAL FORMAL TRAINING OR CHANGE IN YOUR LICENSE IS REQUIRED.

REMEMBER: NO LTC IS REQUIRED IN TEXAS TO CONCEAL A HANDGUN INSIDE YOUR VEHICLE, IF YOU MEET THE 4 CRITERIA:
A. Not prohibited by Law from possessing a firearm or ammunition.
B. Not a Member of a Criminal Street Gang.
C. Not involved in any illegal activity at the time (above a Class C Misdemeanor traffic ticket).
D. Handgun MUST be concealed inside the vehicle.
Yes: The concealed handgun can be Cocked-Locked-Ready to Rock-N-Roll
BUT COME 1 JAN 2016: If you choose to openly carry a handgun you MUST have a CHL/LTC and it MUST be in a belt/shoulder holster not loose and visible in the vehicle.

I run the LTC course as a one-day session (~5 Hours) from the house and have no set minimum class size or set schedule.

I usually run a small LTC class and that seems to work out well for all; Small classes =  more meaningful interaction and better information retention.  Class usually starts at 9am from the house and finishes around 2:30-3pm with shooting at Bracken Range.

2015: I only charge $75 per student + $10 Range Fee

Cash – Check – Can Accept Plastic (Visa MasterCard, AMEX, Discover)

Student must be at least 21 to APPLY online. 20 Year Olds can take my course, but they won’t be able to actually apply for their LTC till they are 21. The Certificate of Completion (CHL-100) is valid for 1 year.

1. First step is to go to the Texas DPS website below and complete the easy online LTC application. Must have a valid credit card for the application fee.

You don’t HAVE to apply on-line FIRST, nor do you need to finish getting your finger prints done BEFORE taking the classroom portion. BUT, you do have to finish applying for your LTC on-line BEFORE setting up your finger printing appointment.

https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/chl/

When finished applying online for your LTC, be sure and print out your receipt and checklist with the barcode on it.  You will need it for the next step in the process – Digital Finger Printing.  Also, bring that LTC checklist with you to class.

2. Approximately 2 hours after finishing your online LTC application, you will receive an email invitation to set up your finger print appoinment. The Prints are taken at one of several DPS approved locations. It is by appointment ONLY.
NO: Your local Police Department can not do the finger prints.

The cost to get your finger printing done is $9.95. Be sure and print out your LTC receipt and appointment date/time and bring that to your finger printing appointment. Be 100% sure that your finger printing form is filled out correctly as there are reports of personal data not being imported correctly from the DPS website.

3. The next step is to pick a date (usually a Sat or Sun, but can be any day except Wednesdays – The range I use {Bracken Range} is closed that day, and then either email or call me and I’ll see if I’m free that day. We will start at 9am at the house and usually finish the classroom portion around 2 or so. We then go to Bracken Range to shoot the 50 rounds.

Bracken Range: www.BrackenRange.com  19140 Marbach Lane  San Antonio 78266

Sign Up for Texas Law Shield

5-Hour COURSE OVERVIEW

Start Time: 09:00 1148 Dimrock Schertz, TX 78154 – Other Start Times Possible         – – Dress for the weather. If Bracken range is OPEN for Shooting – WE WILL FIRE !!!

– – Bring Hearing and Eye protection if you have them. No “Open-Toe” shoes or flip-flops on the range. I have extra Eye/Hearing Protection if you don’t.

– The classroom portion of the course is a combination of slides, relevant video clips, lectures, and guided group discussions.

– – Everyone participates – Please ask questions if you are not 100% sure. Pay attention as there is a 25 question TEST at the end of the course that you must pass.

– – 50 Minutes of classroom instruction followed by a 10-min break.

 DO NOT ENTER THE CLASSROOM WITH AMMUNITION.

      – – OK to bring your UNLOADED firearm to class. Minimum caliber handgun is .32acp. (Changes to .22lr effective 1 Sep 2017) Bring either a Pistol or a Revolver: Your Choice.  
Leave your ammo locked out of sight in your car.

NO AMMUNITION WILL BE USED FOR ANY PURPOSE DURING THE CLASS

– Everyone’s opinions and values are significant and everyone will participate.

– FINAL EXAM is a 25 question Multiple Choice Test: Please Pay Attention! ASK QUESTIONS. Following the classroom portion, we all move to Bracken Range to SHOOT.

– – Range Qualification involves firing a total of 50 rounds at a Man-Sized Target (B-27) at 3, 7 and 15 yards.

– – You must place 70% of rounds on target (EASY) 175 Out Of A Perfect Score Of 250!
My Blind Grandmother Passed The Shooting Portion… (Just kidding Nana)

– – RECENT CHANGE TO LTC LAW: Your CHL will be valid to carry either a Revolver OR a Pistol regardless of what you fired at the range. You DO NOT need passport sized photos IF you possess either a TEXAS Driver License or Texas ID Card.

Not Provided: 2 Passport Photos (If you do not have TX DL/ID), Digital Fingerprinting, Ammo, and the LTC application fee payable to Texas DPS (ranges from FREE For Active Duty Military, $25 for Honorably separated Veterans, to $140 – (Maximum of $40 effective 1 Sep 2017).

MY LTC COURSE FEE:  $75-Person  RANGE FEE: $10

– – I Prefer CASH, but can accept checks, or Plastic – Visa, MasterCard, AMEX, Discover.

– – I GUARANTEE you will pass the classroom training portion. I DO NOT guarantee you can hit the Man-Sized B-27 target 70% of the time from 3/7/15 yards. If you can’t hit a man-sized target from 3/7/15 yards with 70% of your rounds, WHY do you want a LTC?

– – I DO NOT guarantee you are eligible for a Texas LTC – Only you know that!  If you may lawfully purchase a firearm from a Dealer and can pass the FBI background check you should be eligible for a Texas LTC UNLESS you Really Screwed Up! DWI Conviction = 5 Year Waiting Period.

– – Once we start the class there are NO REFUNDS. Your LTC Application Fee is also Non-Refundable from the State of Texas.

If you have any other questions or concerns, either TXT (210) 363-1165 or email me. INFO@Eagle21.com

I’m here to help.

Sign Up for Texas Law Shield